Life as a Communication Studies Student at Millsaps

(i.e. life as a cultural product)

Honors & New Internship

Yesterday was a big day for me, as I defended my Honors thesis and officially passed!! (For those that don’t know, the Honors Program at Millsaps is a demanding year-long written project that very few students decide to take on…and even fewer students actually make it through the entire process. You can find out more about the Honors Program here. My year-long audience research study on television stereotypes and identity culminated in a 71 page paper and a 45 minute defense/discussion…and now it’s (for the most part) all over. I will have to do a few grammatical revisions and present my work in the symposium next spring, but that’s it!

Since my Honors project is finished, a lot of time opened up for me, so (naturally) I picked up an internship to keep me busy. It’s a local advertising/public relations agency called Creative Distillery. I am now their new social media intern. My first day was today, and I loved it. Their business is about creating, sustaining, and expanding brands, which is just fascinating to me. This agency mostly represents non-profit and arts/cultural organizations, which is what I am predominately interested as well. It will be intriguing to learn from a business perspective how ideas can be attached to brands, causing consumer interest and brand expansion.

Until next time…

Kirsten

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2012 by .

Navigation